Apply Now

← Return to Who's Who

Gemma Beltran

La Finta Giardiniera - director

Gemma founded the company Dei Furbi in 2002. She has a long artistic career, which includes various creations, stagings and direction of theatre plays. Her most recent works as creator and director with Dei Furbi include Oklahoma (2017), Trilogia MozArt (2014), La Flauta mágica – Variaciones Dei Furbi (2013-14), Asufre (2009-11), Hombres de Shakespeare (2008), La isla de los esclavos (2006-07), Tocata y fuga (2005), Divertimento (2003) and Scherzo (2002).
With her company Baubo, Teatro de Movimiento, she created and performed from 1990 onwards: Ànima nòmada (2003), Intramurs (2002-2001) and Combattimento (1999) (for which she was awarded first prize in pantomime in the International Festival One man show in Moldavia in 1999), Jeroglífico (1997), Morfosis (1993), and Baubo (1990).
Further, Gemma collaborated in the direction and movement at different companies, including Compañía Teatro Romea from Barcelona, El café de Goldoni by Carlo Goldoni, directed by Joan Ollé; L’anonima Imperial, directed by Juan Carlos García; Cía. El Finikito from Madrid, directed by Carlo Boso; and Cía Falso Magnifico from Montpellier, directed by Toni Cafiero.
Gemma’s creations have toured internationally in Italy and Germany, and have premiered in some of the most relevant international theatre festivals in Spain such as Grec Festival de Barcelona and Temporada Alta.
At the same time, Gemma developed a teaching career at Institut del Teatre in Barcelona ESAD (Dramatic Arts Superior School) and at other acting schools. She taught acting and directed creation workshops while using Commedia dell’Arte techniques.
Gemma’s first book was released in 2018, and compiled her works from 2002 to 2017, while celebrating the 15th anniversary of Dei Furbi.
Gemma received numerous awards over the course of her career, including the following: Max Award 2014 for the best Musical Theatre Show for La Flauta Màgica – Variacions Dei Furbi (main Spanish performing arts award); first Award for best direction for Asufre at Certamen Nacional de Directoras de Teatro de Torrejón de Ardoz, 2011 (National Contest of Female Directors); third Award for best direction for Hombres de Shakespeare at Certamen Nacional de Directoras de Teatro de Torrejón de Ardoz, 2010.

IOA Newsletter

Would you like to stay informed? Subscribe to our newsletter now and sign up here.